top of page

An Interview with Crimmins


Please tell us a little about yourself.

Cdr. Crimmins is a character I first invented in the mid 1980's in college when I was involved in a shared sci-fi story experiment with friends. He's nervous, excitable and has risen to his level of incompetence. Only a streak of insane luck and happenstance keeps him alive. OTOH, I am in my 50's, much more laid back, married, kids, work, etc...


What sort of hobbies do you have?

Gaming has pretty much always been and continues to be a part of my life. So much so I have the word 'GAME' tattooed on my chest in Norse tree runes. Chess the biggest and longest running game interest but also board, card, game system, PC, mobile, RPG, etc... I also love kite flying, the excitement of putting up kites I make myself as well as the serenity and peace I get single line flying them. I hike, I coach youth sports, I swim and snorkel, but mainly I raise my kids.


What brought you to WR and when did you start playing?

My son got me into it the summer of 2016. I saw him playing this giant robot game, moving through a ruined cityscape while pivoting and firing a variety of rocket weapons while taking return fire. It looked cool and immediately reminded me of Mech Warrior. After pondering it for a few days I took the bait, downloaded it and got hooked. Later on I realized that what I observed that first time was his Zenit/Tulu/Piñata Golem moving through Dead City. I still play that Franken bot for old times sake every now and again.


What do you think attracts you to a game like WR?

Giant robots blasting each other across a variety of battlefields? What's not to like! But I also like the customization of bots and hangars you can do.


What platform and device do you play on?

I play on iOS, on an iPad.


What level are you at at the moment?

League level? Currently as of this moment I am Diamond 1 but just before the introduction of Titans I was in Expert 3. I've never been higher. I did not like the introduction of the new MM in Jan 2017. At the drop of a hat it destroyed any ability for experienced pilots to squad with new pilots and show them the ropes using comparable gear. By the summer of 2017 I had halted upgrading my gear any higher than it was and settled into Gold 1 for a very long time. Later I slowly drifted up into Diamond without anything being leveled higher than 6 solely due to newer bot and weapon power levels.


What’s your hangar like?

Well, I don't really have a standard hangar, what with 5 hangar decks and 158 bots (all leveled to at least 6). I do however, tend to deploy 3 or 4 brawlers with 1 or 2 support bots. One thing I do over 90% of the time is choose the hangar I'm going to deploy before I hit play, so I like every hangar to be able to operate regardless of the map I get.


What are your favourite bots?

My favorite bots absolutely are the pre-dash era bots. I'm just old fashioned that way, I guess. It helps to explain my deep love for 6 Pack though!


What are your favourite weapons?

Slug throwers. Punishers and Molots and Nashorns oh my!


Do you have a favourite map and tactic?

My favorite map is Springfield. It contains everything a map needs and I don't mind the distances as I feel it teaches people an important lesson not often used these days, bot preservation. I noticed early on in 6 Pack that the champs we played against did not throw bots away, they made you come get them. I paid attention to that and it made me a better player.


How often do you play?

It's a rare, rare day I don't get at least 2-3 matches in but generally not more than 10 matches a day.


Do you squad?

Only rarely. I've kept my gear fairly low level (except for my hangar of maxed Vits, God that's a fun hangar!) so that I can squad with my pilots in AuNv but communications can be tough with people who've never heard of Discord. As a result though I am generally overmatched if I try to squad with my friends who are higher league levels than I am. That being said, the friends I have made here in Aurora Nova and in 6 Pack have all stated repeatedly that they do NOT care if I am virtually helpless in our squad matches, they just like playing together on voice and in squad and that is a great feeling.


Any thoughts about squadding?

I really miss being able to downgrade your gear so you can show new players the ropes without them being smashed to a pulp in seconds. That is the biggest loss, imo, caused by the new MM.


What would you change in the game if you could?

If I had to choose only one thing, it would be the MM. Tanking was unknown back then. WWR exploded into massive popularity with it. There are plenty of ways to make money without the current league system.


Why did you join our discord server?

Like my good friend Grainreaper, I was simply told it was a requirement by Dredd_77! Best thing I ever did, I've made so many friends through it.


What do you like/dislike about our discord community?

I like our inclusiveness, how it brings us together through a shared love for this game. The only thing I 'dislike' about Discord is that I sometimes simply spend too much time checking it!


Why do you play War Robots ?

Despite many changes to this game that I do not necessarily like or agree with it is still the best of the bunch when it comes to robot combat games. And it came with a great, great community both here, on other discords, and on the forums.

55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page